About Faculty

The origins of the Faculty date back to 1961, when the Faculty of Telecommunications was established in the Evening School of Engineering in Bydgoszcz. In February 1962 Telecommunications programme was launched, offering a Bachelor of Science degree, and a year later, a BSc programme in Electrical Engineering.

In 1964 the Evening School of Engineering was transformed into Higher School of Engineering, and in the following year, the Faculty of Telecommunications changed its name to the Faculty of Telecommunications and Electrical Engineering.

Combining the Higher School of Engineering with the local branch of the Agricultural University of Poznan in 1974, resulted in the establishment of the Academy of Technology and Agriculture. Since then, the faculty offered education in Master’s degree programmes in the fields of electrical engineering and telecommunications.

In 1977 the Faculty of Telecommunications and Electrical Engineering was moved to the new campus facilities located in Fordon. The educational offer was later extended by a Postgraduate Course in Telecommunications (1986), and the faculty itself was divided into two institutes: the Institute of Telecommunications and the Institute of Electrical Engineering. The faculty received the right to grant the PhD degreesin the discipline of Telecommunications in 1998.


In 2006, the President of the Republic of Poland, Lech Kaczynski, signed a bill to change the name and the status of the Academy of Technology and Agriculture, and turn it into the University of Technology and Life Sciences

Due to the efforts of the management of the Institute of Telecommunications, a 3,5 year BSc programme in Data Communications was opened in 2008.

In 2012, in order to more accurately relate the profile of teaching, research and cooperation with the economic environment, the Faculty changed its name to the Faculty of Telecommunication, Information Technology and Electrical Engineering.

After consulting the economic environment of the Faculty, a new BSc programme was introduced: in 2013: power engineering.

A year after, the lack of IT professionals in the region and consultation with local economic environment has led to the launch of a another BSc programme: Applied Computer Science.

Current structure of the Faculty:

Institute of Telecommunications and Computer Science:

  • Department of Transmission Systems
  • Department of Fundamentals of Electronic Circuits
  • Department of Applied Computer Science and System Engineering
  • Department of Digital Technology
  • Department of Telecommunications Systems

      Institute of Electrical Engineering:

  • Department of Power Engineering
  • Department of Power Electronics, Electrical Machines and Drives
  • Department of Metrology and Fundamentals of Electrical Circuits


Currently, the Faculty offers following programmes:

Undergraduate Bachelor of Science degree (full-time and part-time):

  • electronics and telecommunications,
  • electrical engineering,
  • power engineering
  • applied computer science
  • data communications


Graduate Master’s degree:

  • electronics and telecommunications,
  • electrical engineering.